Katie’s Newsletter
The Katie Halper Show
Erica Garner
0:00
-55:23

Erica Garner

Here' my oped on this: https://www.nydailynews.com/opinion/mayor-de-blasio-not-late-honor-erica-garner-legacy-article-1.3761825 I interviewed Erica Garner a few weeks ago and was planning to release her interview next week or the week after. But on December 24, I learned that Erica had been hospitalized and put into a medically induced coma after suffering a heart attack. She's 27 and has two kids and is the daughter of Eric Garner, who was murdered by the NYPD in Staten Island. He was placed in a choke hold despite saying "I can't breath," 11 times. This episode consists of two interviews, done a week apart, I conducted with Erica over the phone. She talked about her demands for DiBlasio, her hopes for the future and the work she's doing. She also shared insights and stories about her father, who she called a gentle giant. I will update this when I hear any updates about Erica. Someone who tweeted out that they work with Erica has been has been tweeting updates about her condition at es_snipes.

0 Comments